## The 2015 CSSP Honorary Fellow Award

## is awarded to

## Dr. Rhodora R. Aldemita

Senior Program Officer International Service for the Acquisition of Agri-biotech Applications



In recognition of her significant contribution to research, teaching and extension in the field of biotechnology.

Dr. Aldemita has been engaged in rice biotech research and was instrumental in the establishment of the genetic engineering and molecular breeding laboratories, containment level 2 screenhouse and the confined field trial site at the Philippine Rice Research Institute (PhilRice). Her research works on rice genetic engineering and biotech research activities for rice pest and disease resistance have been recognized nationally and internationally. She was instrumental in the development of the Central Luzon State University's Institute for Graduate School curriculum on biotechnology majors and had taught the basics of biotechnology for more than six years.

She is one of few esteemed scientist-lecturers on agricultural biotechnology in the country and has convened numerous scientific meetings and training workshops for biotechnology. As senior program officer of the International Service for the Acquisition of Agri-biotech Applications' (ISAAA) Global Knowledge Center on Crop Biotechnology (KC), she has provided the necessary technical backstop and science communication perspectives.

Her remarkable dedication to help researchers can be discerned through her teaching of special courses in scientific technical proposal writing and writing for publication; reviewing and editing project proposals for funding; officer and life member of 16 local and international professional societies; technical reviewer of 5 scientific journals; and as editor-in-chief of the Philippine Journal of Crop Science for the past 5 years.

Given this 14<sup>th</sup> day of May 2015 at Hotel Stotsenberg, Clark, Pampanga, Philippines during the 23<sup>rd</sup> Federation of Crop Science Societies of the Philippines Scientific Conference.

RAMON A. OLIVEROS Chair, Awards and Recognition

ANTŎŴO G. LALUSIN President, 2014-2015